Out of comfort zone... Advise...

Kayak Shooter

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Ive been shooting wildlife for over 20 years. Today a friend asked if I would shoot his art exhibit. I TOLD HIM I LACK EXPERIENCE, but he said it beats iphone pics. Lol.

So tonight I have to take pictures of people....yuck.

I bought an Sb700 just now to replace an old vivitar.

My D750 is with Nikon, so I'll be using my D7100.

Which lenses shouls I use? 35mm f1.8, 50mm f1.8, 85mm f1.8, 18-55, 18-200, 70-200 f4?

I'm tempted to use the 18-200 since it isnt a pro job and carry the 35mm just in case.

Any advice on camera settings... I'm out of my element.

What's the Fstop for the 18-200? If you're shooting just for a friend, and he's wanting a "documentary" shot of people and not artistic, i'd rock the 85 1.8 (without knowing the aperture for the 18-200

F3.5-5.6...

I think I may just throw all the primes in the bag...

REALLY depends on where the art exhibit IS. I've been to some in large, well-lit spacious rooms where you would have plenty of room to work with just about any of those lenses; and I've been to some with much more limited space and/or lighting constraints.
I'd take the 85mm f/1.8 and the 35mm as well, and I'd probably haul the 18-200 in just as a possibility.

I'd say the 18-200mm would be worth taking; its got a huge zoom range and not all that wide a series of apertures. But its strength is in that zoom range. You can get it to work in nearly any environment and thus might be your saving grace if things prove very tight tonight.

Without seeing the venue first its very hard to judge; the primes in the bag would certainly do and 35, 50 and 85mm should be more than enough for such an event (up to 200mm is really if you're standing in an audience at an event rather than mingling with the crowds).