out-of-dated film

wil_80

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello,

I am in the middle of a film that I suppose to be out-of-date. The last time I shot was more than one year ago. As a newbie, I don't know what effect it could have on the remaining part of the film. So, could you tell me if I have to rush to the photo lab or something?
Moreover, I have another question. If I found an old film, let's say 3 or 4 years old, and I made it developped, what would be the result?

Thank you for your help.
Wil

--
PS: English is not my first language, sorry for the mistakes.

There probably wouldn't be much difference at all. It depends how the film has been stored. If it's been in a cool dry place it shouldn't show any signs of change. You will almost certainly get decent results, just not quite the quality you'd expect from brand new stuff, but if you aren't blowing the pictures up really large I don't think you will tell at all.

the only real way to know is to develop it.

That said, I have had customers process films up to SIXTEEN years old! They came out quite purple, but still recognizable images. I have also seen 5 year old films come up looking almost like new.

There was a thread on this a while back, but frozen film will last for a LONG time. I have been shooting almost exclusively for the last 6 months with film that is on average 13 years out of date (early 90's). It has been frozen since new, and every roll has come out perfectly. These are colour slides and black and white.

Dave

My dad has a roll of Kodoak Color film that I am guessing is probably way friggin' old. Can anyone even tell me when they started selling color 35 mm film? It's in a tin can that is yellow with a red screw on cap. The film itself is yellow, and the piece that sticks out at the top (that hooks into the thing that advances it--like those technical terms? ;) ) is green.