Painting with Light

malachite

Heavily Medicated For Your Protection
Reaction score
2 minutes of painting per color, times 4 colors, plus time to switch gels = 9 minutes of exposure. I now have proof of what I'm doing at all hours of the night......................

Boulder_060304-01.jpg

Yes, it's the Cat rock again...........

a company my dad used to do work for made a fiber optic kit to do this kinda ish

Not that I would understand even for a second how this was done, but I sure like the outcome.
Looks as if the rocks were shining from within. Way cool!

Wow, more compliments. You guys are too cool :p

I've just started doing these a few weeks ago so I'm still learning. My paintbrush is a maglite, my paint is old Cokin filters and studio light gels held on the front of the flashlight with an old off brand filter holder. Set the camera to Bulb and paint away for 1 to 3 minutes per color. When you're done painting, close the shutter, advance film, repeat for another image.

There's a few more details to it but thats the jist of it..................

malachite said:
Wow, more compliments. You guys are too cool :p

I've just started doing these a few weeks ago so I'm still learning. My paintbrush is a maglite, my paint is old Cokin filters and studio light gels held on the front of the flashlight with an old off brand filter holder. Set the camera to Bulb and paint away for 1 to 3 minutes per color. When you're done painting, close the shutter, advance film, repeat for another image.

There's a few more details to it but thats the jist of it..................

Wow. That is really cool. I love hearing about these methods! :D I'm still not sure I get it, even though you explained it carefully and didn't use big words :wink: but I like the end result just the same!

Very interesting and a terrific result!

DanielK said:
Very nice. Does anyone know if this works with a digital camera?

Daniel