Paper lightshades, what light bulb to use?

gayle23

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I've recently been watching some Brooke Shaden tutorials as I love her work! She recommends using ikea paper lampshades to diffuse the light with 200 watt bulbs for a cheap diy home studio. I thought I would give this a go as it's cheap and I am just learning and just planning on practising with friends etc. I've ordered some paper light shades but wandering what sort of light bulbs would be most flattering for portraits. should I be getting day light type bulbs? I really have no idea. I'm intending on just having a play about in my shed, it has no windows at all. Any advice?
Thanks Gayle

Gayle, it's not so much about the light bulb, than the tools you use for shaping the light, so any bulb would do.
However, some have more light output than others and are therefore easier to use for not so high ISO shots.
They usually get much hotter though which might make it more difficult to use light shaping tools.
In general hot bulbs (glow wire) have a more complete spectrum (similar to the sun) and are easier to white balance. Incadescent lights and LEDs can have weird color casts that are difficult to white balance.
Don't let manufacturers fool you. Some LED and Incadescence manufacturers give you equivalent wattage. They are ALL wrong. I own(ed) so many of them, and they are much less bright than their specs would suggest.

You want Edison base bulbs, or screw-in electronic flash units that use the Edison base.

Edison Screw Camera Flash Bulbs and Tubes | eBay

Electronic FLASH units that screw in have ben used for literally decades. In a windowless room, you will of course, need some light to see what's happening.

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
..............Don't let manufacturers fool you. Some LED and Incadescence manufacturers give you equivalent wattage. They are ALL wrong. .......

Actually, they're perfectly right.