Pathetically new to film, need help please.

runninglance

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey, I've been on here for several months now, but this is my first time posting in this section. I'm finally taking a photography class which is film. I have been shooting only digital up until this point. So this film deal is pretty overwhelming. Anyways I bought my developer today, which is Kodak T-Max Developer and Replenisher. I don't know the first thing about mixing this to start developing (I missed the first couple of classes.) So if someone on here could help me I would be very appreciative. I'm sorry for sounding like a compete idiot, this is just really overwhelming to me. Thanks in advance.

First off.....attend your classes!! :whip: Don't rely on the internet for crucial info!

Okay, now that's out of the way.... :lol:

TMax developer, the liquid? Easy as pie. One part TMax to 4 parts water, distilled if you have it. What that means for a single roll of 35mm film is 100 mls TMax, 400 mls water in a 500 ml graduate, or half a liter. Very easy to mix. Next, check the temperature and look at the chart on the label for the total time to agitate according to temperature. When they say 5 agitations for 5 seconds, practice that so you get the hang of it, it's quite a lot of agitating per minute compared with other developers.

I'm sure you have step by step instructions on how to develop your film, and you've been naughty by skipping these classes, so no more info from me! ;) Hope this is enough to get you started.

Have fun! B&W film is where it's at. :thumbup:

And read the instructions which come with the developer, stop bath and fixer very, very carefully. Film development is a matter of devotion to procedure so that each and every roll receives the same exact treatment.