PENTAX K10D-VRS-NIKON D80-VRS-SAMSUNG GX-10-VRS CANON XTI

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by ZIN, Oct 18, 2007.

1. ZIN

ZIN TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I need a little advice please...ok alot of advice... I have been researching the above cameras and when I think I have it all figured out I dont.
    I have been told to just buy the camera body that fits my needs and purchase my lenses separately. I have read these two links along with many others.
    http://ryanbrenizer.livejournal.com/408758.html
    http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1036&message=21029935
    and then this one led me to the Samsung
    http://www.dcresource.com/reviews/pentax/k10d-review/index.shtml
    Can you please tell which camera is the better choice ?
    I am just starting out but I need a camera to grow with .

2. Buszaj

Buszaj TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I would probably stay away from the Samsung just because they are very new to the SLR world and I don't think that they have a good reputation for this yet. Just my opinion though. But the other cameras you mentioned are all good. Feel them out and see which ones you like the most, and be prepared to know how much you are willing and going to spend on lenses in the future (by this I mean that Nikon and Canon will be more expensive). Go to stores and try them out.

3. JerryPH

JerryPH No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Nikon or Canon, you cannot make a bad choice with either one. Me, I am obviously more biased towards a Nikon, but thats a personal choice. I would not be interested in the Samsung, not against the other 2 contenders. I do not know enough about the Petax to make a judgement, sorry.

BTW, good move on staying away from the kit lenses. You can always go 3rd party and get better lenses for less if funds are an issue.

4. ZIN

ZIN TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit