People and their sofas

Hertz van Rental

We're supposed to post photos?
Reaction score
When I was doing this for a living I used to like taking semi-formal/informal portraits of people, couples, families in my own time. It wasn't until a friend looked through my work and pointed it out that I realised that 95% of these pictures were taken with the subjects sitting on their sofas. It wasn't a conscious choice on my part. But once it was pointed out I started doing it on purpose... and so it stopped working for me.
I used to have dozens but now I can't even find the negs. Two prints have just surfaced (and two of my favourites at that) so I thought I'd share. Besides, I'm sure lots of you have pictures of people sitting on sofas so this could be a good thread.
I'll post more if I find them.

It's the way people start to behave when they begin to get bored with what you are doing - especially children - that I liked. And the way their behaviour countrpointed the formality of the more patient adults.
I particularly like the feet in the second one.

JonesFamily.jpg

RosenFamily.jpg

For some reason I was watching the intro to a show about Van Halen - and Terry Jones popped into my head.

:mrgreen: (it's the most appropriately smug smilie I can find) and the other guy is Mike Rosen. Well I did say I used to do this sort of thing for a living.....

Now I like that one. Love the harmonising colour - makes the pic. Not sure wether I like her eyes looking out of frame though... No. You're right. It works. Maybe a bit more air over her head to balance the feet though.
Nice one.

Hertz van Rental said:
Now I like that one. Love the harmonising colour - makes the pic. Not sure wether I like her eyes looking out of frame though... No. You're right. It works. Maybe a bit more air over her head to balance the feet though.
Nice one.

Thanks.