permission or not?

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by SimplyMo, Jul 23, 2008.

1. SimplyMo

SimplyMo TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    im looking for every photographer's oppinion possible on this topic... it's my biggest weakness as a photographer that loves photographing people, especially candid--in everyday life.

when you're photographing people, in public, do you ask for people's permission? or do you shoot sort of inconspicuously (try to just blend in with the public)? do you use a zoom lens?
    or do you just not care whether your noticed or not (unless someone says something)?

i'm just curious.. i used to be a fearless photographer...i lived in south korea for a couple years, and i had one bad experience. me not being asian, i surely stood out in a crowd. i was standing a bit far from a food stand, shooting the food stand and the surrounding people, and this tiny old woman came out of nowhere and almost hit the camera out of my hands... :stun: i know i shouldn't let one incident get in the way....

2. tirediron

tirediron Watch the Birdy! Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    If you're shooting an image of a single person, or one in which a single individual will be prominent, than yes, definitely ask permission, especially if you intend to publish it.

3. timbearden

timbearden TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    If by any means you plan to publish it, then yes ask for permission. There was a lawsuit a while back for a company where someone's shadow was in the photo. They actually won the suit because there shadow was in the photo.

I realize there are many photo opportunities that you could loose if you take the time to ask people. However, if you plan to use the photos for something other than your own pleasure then you always risk the chance of legal action. Even posting photos on this forum could cross a gray line if you don't have their permission.

I'd just rather be safe, than non safe.