Pet Peeves

LuckySo-n-So

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
While I'm far from a pro, or even an "enthusiast," I still have pet peeves concerning photography.

My biggest pet peeve is when I see people with SLR cameras not supporting the base of the camera with the palm of their left hand when taking a picture.

What are YOUR pet peeves? Just curious. (And I will go ahead and give you "Idiots like me posting stupid topics like this":lol:)

I'm not sure whether this is a peeve or a sorrow, but ...

watching folks 'snap' a picture when, with a few moments of reflection and concentration, they could be making a far better one. The sorrow? Because they miss out on the pleasure of creative accomplishment. Even a simple 'record' shot can be a good record shot.

forgetting to check settings before I press the shutter!
the number of times you find that you were on the wrong aperture, the wrong shutter speed (or most common) the wrong ISO -- because you were shooting something different before.

My biggest pet peeve is when I see people with SLR cameras not supporting the base of the camera with the palm of their left hand when taking a picture.

is holding the zoom ring of the lens acceptable??

Let me check with the judges....

Yes, it is acceptable, but ONLY if you are keeping your left arm close to your chest and your thumb is on the left side of the lens as if you are making a "u" or "cup" shape with your hand. If your left arm is away from your body and you are making a "c" shape with your left hand (with your thumb on the bottom of your lens), then YES, that would be a pet peeve of mine, and you should be shot at dawn. At minimum, I'll release the hounds.