Photo being used for Promotional use without consent

Epiphany

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok, no idea how to handle this. I am a hobby photographer currently, would love to work on becoming professional.

Anyway, my in-laws own a hobby farm. They raise grass fed beef cattle and belong to a state organization of farmers that do the same. While visiting their farm I went out and photographed some of their herd. I, being their daughter-in- law sent them a photo I thought they would enjoy. In turn, it was passed on to this organization. At this point the organization is using my photo on printed brochure, website and have made it into a banner for trade shows without my consent. What do i do? I don't want my image to continue being reproduced without consent. I have had several people approach me prior to this to have copies made into canvases. I thought of maybe selling a copy in a local boutique.
Kind of feel violated.

P.S. Do I see just any small business attorney to get a print release written up for future photography business? Are there attorney's that have backgrounds or specialties dealing with photography business?

Last edited:
I'd work up a price for licencing (including back pay) and contact the company. They might not realize what they are doing is wrong. You created the image and own the copyright of the photo even if its not registered. Personally i would take the soft route first, as this become an avenue for you to become "pro". If they want to play hard ball you might end up needing a attorney to send a strongly worded cease and desist letter or more. That's just IMHO but there is some actual professionals here with much better info/experience that will hopefully chime in.

this is worth persuing.

What do i do?
Send them a bill.