photo crop advice

Kathleen

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I understand that proper cropping can give a photo jump off the page look, or lost subject look. Something I'm just learning. I have a photo that I'd like to see cropped so I know what to look for, what to omit, and possibly why.

I tried a few different crops...some look better, some not so much. With this shot, the subject is pretty much in the middle, which usually doesn't make for an attractive compositions (see Rule of Thirds). Also, the horizon is in the middle, which also doesn't usually make for a great composition. In this case, the sky is plain and so is the water...so it's hard to decide which should be cropped more, the sky or the water. I'm temped to crop just above the building and leave plenty of water.

I also played with this a little bit and I found two crops that I liked. The one I like more and would go with crops just left of the building and goes the the right edge of the frame. It leaves very little sky and water. This brings the focus onto the building, but leaves enough negative space on the right to leave the photo in balance. The second is little strange, I turned it into a vertical shot with just the building. While there is a lot of sky and water, I liked how they played off each other in that crop.

I looked at the photo again and could see the problem that you spoke of with regards to the terminal being in the middle. So I went through my shots and found what I hope is a better shot as far as placement is concerned. I focused on what you said thirds (if I understood it correctly) and came up with following cropped. Am I moving in the right direction or would photo look best in another way? Here is a before & after. I also straightened the image.

I would try cutting a little off the sky and a little off the water in your first image, the main reason is that the sky and water are wasted space that nakes it seemingly boring.