photo editing for a poor college student and beginner

stoopidhead

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
i'm looking to get some photo editing software. i'm a beginning photographer, and i don't know alot about photo editing. i also have very little money. i found some software called picasa, which is free... will this be good enough software to start out with and do basic editing or is there something better?

Welcome to the forum.

I haven't used Picasa in a while, but I remember that it was pretty good for image organization and cataloging. I think the newer versions have more editing tools, but there are better options for actual editing.

You will probably want to check out GIMP. It's a free image editing program that is supposedly pretty good. There are many members here who use it.

The best editing software is, of course, Photoshop...which is very expensive. However, they have discounts for students and they are pretty good discounts. You could also check out Photoshop Elements, which is basically 'Photoshop Lite'. It's much less expensive...there might even be a student discount on that as well.

I will second GIMP and Elements (if the price tag isn't too high). Either of those programs will do everything you need and some. Picasa's photo editing isn't bad, but you are pretty limited on the adjustments you can make.

You can get the student version of Photoshop for about $200 at your campus bookstore or online (you have to provide proof of enrollment in classes or something).

I use PSE8 and it was less than $100. I find that I can do most things that you can do in Photoshop but sometimes it just requires a few extra steps. And there are TONS of PSE actions out there that make it really easy. Not to mention lots of tutorials online and books for you to check out.