Photo Editing

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Natural_Disaster, Feb 9, 2010.

1. Natural_Disaster

Natural_Disaster TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I know im just a beginner, however this is something ive been thinking about a lot lately.
    Sometimes some PP is needed and can really make a shot a lot better...But sometimes it just really messes it all up entirely (in my opinion).
    Does everyone always use touch ups and edits on all their shots?
    Maybe i just dont have the "eye" for a great photograph..i dont know. It just seems like i see more and more shots that have been edited in many ways that just start looking grainy or fake...yet they keep getting great comments....
    :confused:
    I guess it all depends on the persons visual taste...

2. SushiWarrior

SushiWarrior TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Almost anything can use a few little tweaks - levels here, curves/contrast there, white balance, and removing dust specks and distractions. But it isn't usually that necessary, it's mostly to improve IMO, not save a picture.

3. Dominantly

Dominantly TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I do touch up every photo I take. I personally don't believe there is a photo out there that couldn't benefit from a little PP.
    Some people may go to far, but thats all part of learning. Heck, they may even enjoy the look they're created.
    As far as being Grainy, thats a product of a few different things, but a properly exposed, low ISO, RAW shot should be fine after a bit of processing. A Jpeg that was taken in poor conditions, which someone is trying to fix, will probably end in poor results.

4. burnws6

burnws6 TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I never pp. Ever.

5. Natural_Disaster

Natural_Disaster TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit