Photo Lab? (pretty specific question)

Joel

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.sydpk.com
Hi again everyone.

Im in Sydney Australia. I was wondering if anyone knows a good place to take my film. im only a very noob so am looking for somewhere cheap, but i've heard it'll be better to go to somewhere decent. im in The Sutherland Shire for anyone who may be able to help me.

And for those not from Sydney, can u explain what they would/could/will do differently in a better lab compared to the local chemist or supermarket.

Thanks in advance :)

Joel said:
...can u explain what they would/could/will do differently in a better lab compared to the local chemist or supermarket.

For 35mm C-41 (color process neg film) the machines in the pro labs are often the same, or very similar as the equipment in your local grocer or chemist. Sometimes the econo-labs use cheaper paper, but you can find plenty that use the good stuff. The key is the people running the equipment.

Hopefully, the folks working in a photo lab will keep their equipment maintained, the chemistry fresh, pay attention to detail, know how to solve problems, how to work outside the automatic functions of the equipment, and most important, they have an interest in photography.

The people working in the photo dept. at a grocery or department store were probably hired to work in the store in general, and ended up in the photo dept. With proper training there's no reason they can't do a decent job, but mainly the machines are going to run on auto with no human corrections.