Photo newbie here...

BrettG

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
This isn't so much about my darkroom technique (since I don't have a darkroom :) ) as it is just developing in general. When taking my film to a store to get it developed, is there a difference in quality in the FILM developing (not the actual printing of the pictures, just the developing of the film) between a cheap photo lab in a wal mart, and a nicer, more expensive, professional place?

For example if I didn't care too much about my smaller prints, but did intend to blow some up that I liked, could I take my film to get developed at a cheaper place, then when blowing a picture up take it to a more expensive place without losing any quality in the enlargement? Or do cheaper places use cheaper chemicals resulting in poorer quality negatives?

mmmm, I don't think so. While it's true you can enhance grain with some developers better than others, which may not be desired as it becomes more pronounced the larger you make your print, I think the same "quality" exists among them all. If I am understanding your question correctly. I think it would have more to do with your choice of film - cheap grainy film with poor color saturation will not blow up as nicely as a film with vivid saturation, regardless of development.

I'll let some others weigh in here. :)

Walmart barely cleans their equipment. They also don't take care of your negatives like a pro lab will. I used to use your school of thought. Walmart for the quick cheap prints, real lab for enlargments. But when I get every negative back with dirt all over and small scratches across the entire roll, I decided it wasn't worth it. If you check with your lab, they should have process only prices. The pro lab in town processes 35mm negatives for $3/roll.

voodoocat said: