Photo newbie - need advice!

thatswhatshesaid

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello, all. I'm new to this, so bear with me.

As a total beginner with no experience, I will be looking to some of you more experienced members for help.;)

So...

I am uber-interested in the Pentax K10D. What can you experts tell me? Do you recommend it? (Before you tell me to use the search function...I've done it. I've read EVERYTHING about it.)
(note: This is my first camera...but I want to start strong...)
Also: It seems that any Pentax lens EVER PRODUCED will work with this machine. Is it that simple? Or is there a catch? And how much can I expect to spend on some older lenses? Are they easy to find?

Thanks, all.
- Tyler

Go and find one and if it whispers sweet nothings in your ear when you hold it close-- buy it!

If there is still doubt, go and hold the others and give them a chance to talk. ;)

mike

Dang.
That was fast.

Anyway, I just found the Olympus E-510.
Any opinions regarding that? Like a comparison with the K10D...side by side. What is one machine missing that the other has?

Firstly, a dSLR isn't for everybody. Unless you are experienced and/or have a passion for photography ... don't get a dSLR. For most people a high end P&S is more camera then they will every need.

When you purchase a dSLR you really are not buying a camera ... but rather a camera system. In order to take advantage of a dSLR advanced capabilities one needs to also buy several lenses (if you're interested only in the 'Kit' lens then get a P&S ... you'll get a lot more value per dollar.)

That being said, the first thing you need to ask yourself is "What, will I/do I, shoot?" Then look into the camera systems and see if they have camera(s) and lenses which address your shooting requirements (i.e. sports, astrophotography, macro, et cetera.)