Photo noob looking for new camera

spacemanjupiter

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a photo noob, just learning about photography and hardware. I've had a Fuji S9000 9mp for a few years now, and would like to upgrade to something and get serious about learning how to use it. My S9000 has taken some great pictures, but even being the photography noob that I am, I can see the limitations of having an all digital camera.

Here are some things I may be doing with a new camera.
- Documenting highly detailed artwork for 18x24 prints (I assume I need at least 12mp)
- Taking various types of shots for learning
- Capturing moving objects, including possibly high speed objects in the sky during night or day(May start UFO hunting which can often times be objects moving at high speed)
- Video capture (The only video taking capability I presently have is with my Fuji S9000 and would be sorely missed if I didn't have the capability)

First and foremost is image quality, especially for the prints i'll be making from the 18x24 sized artwork I do. Second would be the high speed shooting as described above. Keep in mind i'm a photo noob, but I'm fully capable of learning photography and hardware, which I plan on doing more seriously from this point on.

Here is what I have been looking at.

Canon Digital Rebel T1i. I've heard good things about the image quality and I like the video feature.

I am open to less expensive options, and more expensive options. The T1i just seemed like a sweet spot for the money and quality.
----------------------------------------
Also, just a couple of questions.

What exactly makes a camera entry level or professional?

If a T1i has the same size sensor and digi4 processor, why would image quality from a D7 be better?

Sorry for the loaded post, and thanks for any replies.