Photo Release Question

jhenshaw

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have been asked by a restaurant/bar manager to shoot photos while the bar holds a "spy party" (promotions to get customers through the door). I will be payed for my photos. I am wondering if I need to have photo releases for shots taken while I am there. The manager will be using them in a photo gallery on the restaurant internet site. I do not plan to use any of these photos for any reason. I will burn the photos to a CD and hand them over to the restaurant. I have never done this before. If you think I need to have a release how would you approach someone when asking for permission.

Thanks so much!
Jhenshaw

The only release you will need is from the owner. It's like a wedding in that effect.

You, and/or the restaurant owner need to consult with a local attorney familiar with this area of law in your state, county, and city.

What documentation you/the restaurant owner will need will be determined by the laws of your state (VA?).

Generally, the restaurant owner cannot use images with people in them for promotional purposes (restaurant web site) without those peoples written consent (model release). If the restaurant owner wants to use the images on a personal web site, no model releases are needed.

It is generally recognised as the photographers responsibility to provide signed model releases right along with the photographs of people having the potential to be used for advertising. It is not often advertising images are made on the advertisers property, which is the case in your situation.

However, it is ultimately the publishers responsibility to have the proper releases on record. In this instance the restaurant owner would be publishing the images online (restaurant web site) and would be the publisher not you the photographer.