Photoblog

mangtarn

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am an amateur photographer and I do get some nice looking photos sometimes. Recently I started working with a newspaper and their professional photographers. I have noticed that they all have their photoblogs. kind of a like a journal with some photos attached to it. so i want to make one myself. any suggestions on what service i should use (wordpress.com, blogger)?
since im not trying to sell prints or attract clients (at the moment), i would like to keep it cost free.
thank you.

I would highly recommend Wordpress. My mom and I both use it - I used Blogger (Blogspot) for a while but switched because it was a huge pain in the butt to use, especially for photos. Wordpress has some really great, "professional" looking themes, and is free for the first 3gb of space. Space upgrades range from $20 to almost $300.00 a year, depending on how much space you want/need. Photos eat space for breakfast, words don't. But, there's a way around that... Use a hosting site - Flickr has the best compression without wrecking the photo, and it's only $25 a year for unlimited uploading - and use the link in Wordpress's photo embedding tool instead of uploading directly from your computer. It's a few more clicks, but definitely worth it: My mom has been blogging for about four years - she uses a ton of pictures - and she's only used about 10% of the 3gb.

If you need help setting up your blog, send me a PM and I'd be happy to help.

Look into 500px.com. It has both a portfolio for photos and a blog. The community is cool too. You can see mine at matthewsteinblock.com. I had a wordpress site and loved it, however there was no community or exposure, the only people that visited were the couple that happened to find me online.