"Photographer"

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by explody pup, Nov 21, 2004.

1. explody pup

explody pup TPF Noob!

Probably a tired old subject, if so, then let this thread sink.

I was visiting some friends lastnight (pot luck dinner, I made pierogis, mmmmmmmmmmmmmm...) and met a few new people. I was screwing around with my camera and was asked by one of them if I'm a photographer. I use my standard "sometimes I pretend to be" answer and my ever-supportive friends chime in that yeah, I am a photographer.

This is flattering, I'll admit, but I can't agree with them. I may use a camera, but that doesn't mean I'm a photographer. Same way someone who builds a bird house isn't really an engineer, or someone who balances a checkbook isn't really an accountant. But I am, admittedly, a freak about semantics. The only way I would call myself a photographer is if I made a living at photography. That's where I personally draw the line. I'm simply not a photographer. I'm a chemist. That's how I pay the bills and buy the food. I'm a chemist who likes to take photographs.

Anyhow, what do you fine folks think?

• Agree Agree x 1
  2. Walt

Walt TPF Noob!

I agree. Photography seems to draw that line of thinking a lot. Another common field is painting (House type). A lot of people who pick up a brush think they are painters.

3. Hertz van Rental

Hertz van Rental TPF Noob!

Being a photographer is a state of mind. I have known quite a few people who took pictures for a living but I wouldn't have described them as photographers.

4. oriecat

oriecat work in progress

Since I gallery sit every Saturday at a photography gallery, I too often get asked if I'm a photographer. I usually stumble through something like, well kinda, I just do it for myself, blah blah...

5. ksmattfish

ksmattfish Now 100% DC - not as cool as I once was, but still

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Websters says that a photographer is...