Photographing motion

A_Vile_Sum

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello all!
This is my first post and I am very excited. I apologize for any errors.
I am fairly new to photography and have no formal training. However, I have been asked to photograph some athletic training sessions and have run into a few problems. The facility is not very well lit and the training is at very high speeds. As you can Imagine there is a great deal of blur to combat. Such as the following. Here are the specs
Shutter- 1/13
Apt- f 5.0
focal length- 34mm
ISO-800

when I tried a faster shutter speed the image would darken anything slower blurred terribly. I would appreciate any input. And I thank you for your time.

DSC_0529.jpg

well your problem is your exposer... 1/13 of a second is far to long for capturing motion shots. Try 1/200 of a second or shorter next time. And to compensate the darkness, adjust your aperture and iso. Also as for the blur; odds are you are panning while you take the shot. This can cause a blur in the background of the moving object. Next time dont pan if you dont want the blur.

Indoor action photography can be difficult and can be demanding on your gear. You did not mention what lens you are using. You need much faster shutter speed than you are using (probably > 1/250 sec, depending on your desired result) and you may well be limited by the maximum aperture of the lens.

Your background is also blurred, likely a result of trying to hand-hold the camera at that slow shutter speed.

You can try cranking your ISO way up, but you will start seeing a great deal of noise as you do.

Good luck!

If flash is not allow, the only way I can think of is use a fast prime lens.

I will say you need at least 1/250 shutter speed. But that is about 4 stops of light from the photo listed. In order to get there, you may need a F/1.4 lens

F/5.6 -> F/4.0 -> F/2.8 -> F/2.0 -> F/1.4 with ISO800