Photographing Pets

kanadierin

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

Any suggestions on how to photograph pets? I have a 18 month old kitten who WILL NOT STAND STILL! I would love to get some great shots of her but it is so difficult. So help on how to get a portrait, posing, as well as tips for photographing a moving kitten (or any animal really) would be useful.

These are the ones I managed to get before I started learning about my camera and photography - I just picked it up and shot.

Picasso
picasso.jpg

p3.jpg

p2.jpg

picasso1.jpg

and my roommate's cat, Tigger:
t1.jpg

I have some ideas for posing your cat

Idea#1 Get the cat Drunk with some of that beer(shouldnt take to much)!

Idea#2 Duct tape the cat where you want it!

Idea#3 Wait till the cat dies and pose it however you like(probably want to pose it before rigors set in though)!

Idea#4 Euthanasia,Taxidermy,Tada... Gumby Cat!!

BTW I am just jokin with ya.I dont have hatred toward your cat just cats in general:mrgreen:

haha those might be the only ways to keep her still! The ones next to the beer I had to play with the toy and then try to take the photo before she ran away with it (she likes to hide her stuffed mice).

You obviously have too slow a shutter speed. You are going to need to use a flash or get more light on the cat to get a faster shutter speed.

Yes, what has been said before and a remote for your camera.

Here's one new although you can get them much cheaper used or in an off brand...

www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=Search&A=details&Q=&sku=12953&is=REG&addedTroughType=search

Use a bait on a short stick and stand out of view. Use a medium app., F8 or so.

Indoors you can drag the shutter for the background and the flash as stated will freeze the motion.

good luck and enjoy that cat!

mike

First, use a fast lens, such as a 50mm f/1.8. What lens do you have with your AE-1 Program?