Photographing Wine Bottles

brownaddesign

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi.

I need some help photographing wine bottles. I have a Canon EOS Rebel (300D) and no studio lighting equipment. I constructed a light box by taking a large cardboard box and cutting out holes in each side, covering them with muslin fabric, placing white posterboard inside bent at an arch for a seamless background, and used two clamp-on lights bought at Wal-Mart with 150 Watt "Reveal" bulbs. I realize my setup is not ideal, but I am a graphic designer by trade and don't do enough photography to justify purchasing a lot of studio equipment. I positioned my lights on either side of the bottle, one a little further away than the other. All of the bottles are dark glass. I thought the reflections I was seeing were OK (not great) but all of my photos were coming out too dark. And the very edges of the bottle were almost vignetting. Of course I want a shot with "hard" or defined edges and nice, pleasing reflections. Any suggestions on getting good results with what I have to work with?

Thanks in advance!
Neil

Samples would be good so people can see what you need to correct.

Sounds like a good starter setup. Are you spot metering on the bottle, not the whole scene? Meter for the bottle, let the background wash out.

Samples will get you much better answers than my guess.

Sorry, I'm not sure if there is a different way to post a pic? I inserted a link and uploaded a sample pic to my website. My "Posting Rules" says "You May Not Post Attachments" and I went into my control panel, but didn't see an option to turn that on???

Anyhow, here is a link to the pic I posted on my website.

IMG_1672.jpg