Photography advice?

LaurenNicole93

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everyone, I was not sure where to post this so please move if this is in the wrong forum.

First things first, I am not a professional nor do I want to be. This is just a nice hobby for me.

I'm interested in newborn photography but I am not sure how to get started. I have been taking photos off and on for about years now. Mostly, I take photos of flowers, plants, buildings, landscapes, pretty much everything that isn't people.I took a class in high school but that was about it. I also did an internship with a wedding photographer here in town, that's about all of the "training" I have. I wouldn't want to do this as a profession but just as a hobby. I would love to be able to intern for free or even just attend a photography session to learn that way. I know with newborn photography you have to know proper procedure, etc to keep the baby safe and whatnot.

I do not know how to get started with this, where to begin, or even who to go to to learn about this area of photography! I believe there are workshops I could attend, but I do not have any money since I am a full time student. If anyone has advice for me, that would be great!

Also, right now all I have is a CanonT1i, the kit lens and some studio lights.

Last edited:
I don't know what you are majoring in but let's assume you have read some scientific research and understand how scientists go about investigating
You are not starting from first principles, from the absolute basic ideas.
People have done newborn photography before and so you can learn from them.
So build an empirical model based on how other people work by looking at their pictures, finding out as many things as you can - so you can try to reproduce the environment
  • what conditions prevailed - home, hospital?
  • how old was the subject?
  • what poses were successful, did someone hold the baby or was it propped up?