Photography Ethics Question

osumisan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
motionshooter.smugmug.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am a hobbyist photographer with an ethics question that I need advice with. For many years, I have shot action photographs of my daughter and her friends as they have grown up and have coached many of these girls. They are considered friends and their parents are family friends. Now that these girls are in high school, there is a current team photographer that has asked me not to give my photographs to my players anymore because it is hurting his year-end photograph DVD sales. He is not a professional either, just a hobbyist as well.

Does my relationship with 'my players' trumph his right to sell his photos to these same players that he doesn't know? I suggested to him that the current group of players do not want to purchase a photo DVD and maybe I can help him offer more products that these players are not used to (posters, mugs, blanket prints, etc). He has resorted to suggesting that he will step down as team photographer it's not worth his while anymore; which is not what I ever intended.

Can I get some experienced photographer's opinions on this matter. There are more details, but I painted the basic picture above.

Thanks for your help,
Jon

You have every right to take photos. The photos are your property and you can give it away.

He has no right to stop you.

Its as simple as that.

No way to tell intention nor attitude but his actions seem audacious. If his photos are not good enough to offer something to his "clients" that you cannot, then he should move on. Then again... if you just want to be nice, you could try to work something out.

PS> Once he is asking for money in exchange for a product, he is no longer just a hobby for him.. its a business. Business is business... don't get con'd into feeling "sorry" for him because he is just like you... a hobbyist.

Thank you for the quick replies: