Photography job/full time career questions

Bella_soseman10

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey all, I’m 16 and I own a canon EOS 850D. I’m kinda new at being passionate about photography even though I’ve owned a camera for a couple years. I want to do photography (nothing specific yet) as a career path when I’m older, and I don’t plan to go to college. I hear a mix of both “So many photographers make 75k+ a year without going to college!” And “you need to at least get an apprenticeship to land a good job in photography” and I’m not really sure what to think. Someone who has a full time job (or know how this all works) can I make a full time job out of photography without college and how do I even start??
An example of a family shoot I did (second one ever)

I want to do photography (nothing specific yet) as a career path

First you need to determine which genre of photography you want to pursue, before you can determine what training you'll need. Around here, family portrait photograpers seldom make it. Every neophyte with a new camera thinks they can do portraits. They don't last long.

Look at things like wedding, forensic, medical, product, newspaper. Things that require some specialized skills.

Hi and welcome! I may be a bit late answering this but I hope you'll see my post.
Tbh to many photographers I know, me included, photography is a paid hobby, while we all have some other more or less stable source(s) of income. Family portraits, individual photo shoots, baby shoots etc, are all fine, but you probably won't make a fortune doing them.