Photojournalism Camera

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by publicurinal, May 4, 2008.

1. publicurinal

publicurinal TPF Noob!

Hi guys,

I'm currently a college student and an aspiring journalist. I've just finished taking a photojournalism course at my university and have found myself to be pretty decent at it. I've been shooting with a Canon 30D belonging to the university and have found it to be great.

I'm looking to buy my own camera so I can continue to develop my photo-taking skills. However, as a college student, my budget is pretty limited. I'm looking to spend around $400-$600 for a body, leaving another $400 for good glass. I'm willing to take a risk on used equipment (a 30D can be had used for $600-ish on eBay).

I'm wondering what equipment you guys would suggest. My biggest concern, simply put, is image quality. Secondary concern is noise performance at high ISOs as my photos would have to consist primarily of natural lighting.

Lastly, I've seen a wide array of opinions regarding the Nikon D40, which would definitely be on the low-end of my budget. However, I can get the D40 plus 18-55 AF-S Nikkor lens and a 55-200 IF AF-S VR lens for $600, which is appealing. But at 2.5 frames per second, noise performance subpar to the Rebel XT (which limited experience has shown me to be far worse than the 30D), and only 3 autofocus points (I prefer to manually focus, but oftentimes situations don't allow for that), I have some concerns.

So, for those that know a thing or two: what equipment would you sell someone looking to get started in photojournalism but on a limited budget?

2. Smith2688

Smith2688 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    If you liked the 30D, then you might want to stay with Canon. I'd look for a Canon XT or XTi. Those should be in your budget and would not limit your lens choice (like the D40 or D40x would).

3. Renair

Renair TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit