Photojournalism with no college

Ja Shwicka

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm an inexperienced photographer, but I'm trying to learn more. I'm a big fan of ice hockey, and i've always wanted to take photos for stories and the games. I don't really have the financial means to go to college right now, so I was looking for some opinions on if it would be possible to accomplish this through hard work, and no college. How does one get into the business of photojournalism without going to college? Is it likely? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Josh

I am glad you made this question ja shwicka!I am one of the same no college but hopefull.As i know is possible to acombplish anything if you love it much
I have send photostream to companies and news paper by email and upload my photos to sites but nothing happen so far.I hope your dream come true!!!

I would go to local newspapers (or any other media outlet that interests you), talk to an editor, sports editor, publisher, someone along those lines, and tell them you're situation and what you're looking for. Chances are they won't have a job position for you, but they may tell you how to go about selling them great images as a freelancer, or may introduce to an option you didn't even know existed.
If you can't find someone who will give you the time of day, keep looking, and don't be afraid to go to small community papers, if anything they may be more likely to help you out than a bigger operation. If you look around hard enough you will find someone in the industry in your area who can give you some good direction.

Matthew Block
http://www.purecaptures.com

...would [it] be possible to accomplish this through hard work, and no college.