Photojournalism....

PointandShoot12608

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Ok, so I am very new to this. I am currently taking photography classes and we got an assignment of photojournalism. I have a few ideas but would like to get some input from other photographers.

Should I go with life as a father/policeman or fire fighter, or more of a tear jerker story?

Like I said I'm very new and appreciate all the input I can get.

A more complete question might help get some responses. As it is phrased, the question you ask is very difficult to answer. You're asking for answers to a question that's poorly phrased, and which leaves almost everything to the imagination.

I do not know about other states but fire fighters in California are a real feast for a photographer. Anything from cars to uniform is very photogenic.

That's what he told us. I am just trying to get ideas since I have never done photojournalism before. This is all a class assignment. I am near Austin and am not sure what to do. Thanks for your input, I appreciate it.

First you find the story, then you take one or more photographs in an attempt to "tell the story".

Finding a story might be the easy part.

If 'reported' in the right light ... most anything can be considered photojournalism. How you shoot (treat) the subject matter is more important than what the subject matter may be. Photojournalism photographs are designed to report ... to tell a story.

Does the teacher want a photo story, (more than one photo illustrating a story), or a single photo illustrating a story?