Photomatrix

Don't forget "qtpfsgui.exe" which is free and works. Now the disclaimer. This is my first attempt. I used a scan from film, using an old S20 HP scanner. Then I took one and lightened it and one copy with enhancement, then mixed the three together.

It has grain. It had dust and dots. It wasn't a super image to start with and I fudged the three stop range. Some day I'll make a real test. But point is the software works.

After all that, I'm kind of happy. :lmao:

Elgin Cathedral, Scotland.

elgin-ruins-1988.jpg

I can't seem to get qtpfsgui.exe to work right. I downloaded it and tried to make an HDR with 3 same location tripod mounted different exposure JPEGs(exposure bracketing of + 2 stops) and all I got was a blank white slate. Then I uninstalled it because it didn't work. I just re-installed it because you managed ot at least get a picture of some kind out of it but now it says "has an error and needs to close" every time I'm halfway through step 2/3 of the HDR process.

First time I used it, I got the error message. After that it worked. Then you save the HDR and can load an change it with different settings.

First images, as you are adjusting and testing, use the small resolution, 256 x whatever, so you can see the changes as you make them. Then when you get it "right" make a larger one. You'll see the progress on the bottom, 25-50-75-pause... and an image pops up.

Might be the computer or the space needed for the temp. image. (I'm in the dark) But once I changed the temp file to a different partition on the hard drive, it worked OK.

I have much to learn. First off, I might try doing a real three exposure picture and not a scan from film.

By the way, the image looks different on my other desktop, kind of purpleish and different on the laptop. The thing that worked was the clouds and you can see how the lights in the doorways came out. The original that I saved had more brown tones, like an ancient ruin should have.