Photorgraphy Permission

mrboontastic

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all

I am wanting to go to my local skate park and take some shots of skateboarding. Do you think I will need permission of the Skatepark management (its an indoor one that only opens at certain times), or should I just walk straight in and start shooting.

If I do ask permission what is the best way to go about it? Do I say Im a student (which im not), or do I just say im an ameture photographer? Do I blag it???

What would you advise. Thanks in advance.:)

Ask for permission.

Once I was photographing an old abandoned (at least it looked like abandoned) factory, but soon an ugly guy appeared and wanted to take my camera away, because he tougth I am a kind of industrial spy, so I run away (the simpliest soluton, when you are in form :lmao: and you don't want to try explain anything).

Not all the peaple are flexible and friendly.

Cheers Cumi

Dont want to get my camera taken from me. What do you think I should do about posing as a student or something??

Just tell them the truth. The worst thing they can do is to tell you no. Explain to them that you are an amature photographer and would be interested in taking some pictures in their establishment. They may ask if they can see the pictures when you're done and could even purchase some. Either way, it shouldn't be that bad. If you lie to them, that could turn into a different story...

Skate parks are pretty unlikely to object to photography, but it's best to have a cover story and speak to the management first. Not many people would have the heart to turn down a student doing a photography project on "movement", so I'd say do that.

Rob

Cheers Guys

Rob I like the movement cover story. Ill give it a try.

Let you all kno whow I get on.:) :D :D

HoboSyke said:
Id be asking the skaters 1st.