Photo's are...meh! Any advice?!

drwatts

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
What up peeps? I'm a newbie to this board so go easy on me! I've been keenly taking pictures for about 5 months now (since I bought my first dslr - Sony a200 with kit lens). At first I was really happy with the way that my skills were developing but now I'm starting to get a bit frustrated. I can't put my finger on what I don't like about my pictures...they just don't excite me. Anyone got any tips/advice/suggestions on how to make them more exciting/punchy/vibrant? Some recent work:

dsc01758cropped.jpg

dsc01830i.jpg

dsc01777qt.jpg

dsc02003lh.jpg

Dear God, man. Upload smaller files.

I'll say something that may sound obvious. You need to stat taking pictures of exciting things. When you begin, everything is exciting to take pictures of. Now you have to start being intentional about finding subject matter that is exciting to you, and that can be anything. It's all about what you find exciting.

The other thing is to accept this as a natural and recurring part of your growth as a photographer. It still happens to me about every 4 month, like clockwork. Everything gets boring, and you feel uninspired and you need to find a new way to ignite the fire and get the creative juices flowing again. It's part of the process.

Dear God, man. Upload smaller files.

I'll say something that may sound obvious. You need to stat taking pictures of exciting things. When you begin, everything is exciting to take pictures of. Now you have to start being intentional about finding subject matter that is exciting to you, and that can be anything. It's all about what you find exciting.