Photos at a party

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by robmc12, Jul 15, 2007.

1. robmc12

robmc12 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hi all,

Just a quick question for you: I'm an amateur photographer, and mainly shoot for personal use. I find most occassions I use a camera are in low-light conditions, at a party or inside a club, where the moment exists only momentarily and requires a quick response to capture the frame.

I've been through a few digital compacts (my camera needs to be light and easily transportable), but unfortunately all I have tried take far too long to shoot. Both the Casio Exilim and Nikon Coolpix ranges I have tried seem to take 5+ seconds to focus, with 2-3 intermittent flashes, and often I miss the moment I'm trying to capture.

Can anyone recommend a small compact that has a quick low-light focus and will help me capture those fleeting memories? Quality is not as important and response and convenience to me.

Thanks,
    Rob

2. Holy Ghosted

Holy Ghosted TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    you may want to look into panisonics I have the Fz-50 and it works good it also has a manual zoom ring so it can be alot faster then others. here is a link to some reviews that are usually pretty detailed http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/
    p.s. I think this is in the wrong place to ask you will get a better response in other place

3. Hertz van Rental

Hertz van Rental TPF Noob!

You may also want to read the Forum descriptions and the posting rules. This is the wrong section for your post.

4. LaFoto

LaFoto Just Corinna in real life Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hi robmc, welcome!
    I corrected your little error of posting in the wrong forum and have moved your thread to the Equipment and Services Advice section.
    Specific Technical Assistence is more about the help to futher better a specific photo that is being presented there, see?

5. digitalfrog