Photos for CC

oliver&sophie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,
I am fairly new to photography. I have had my dslr for about 3 months now. I am hoping to start my own child photography business in the near future but for now I use my kids as guinea pigs. I am shooting raw, most some days I use Manual but other days AP, when the light is constantly changing and my kids are all over the place. My biggest challenge so far is photoshop. I never know what to do besides USM and using the healing tool for touchups. Could you recommend a basic tutorial for bringing out the color the best and please give me some cc. Thanks. :)

2807993759_390371336c.jpg

2808789854_a67a65422e.jpg

I know I cut her fingers off on this one.

2807938801_7f27ef9e2e.jpg

2807938491_a2d3522d94.jpg

2808788754_156b04330f.jpg

2808809164_ae5de86a49.jpg

C&C per req:

1. Not fond of the expression; the child looks very nervous, and the skin has a distinctly green caste.

2. over-bright highlights on her right side (image left) and she's looking the wrong way. You need her looking toward the camera; not necessarily right at it, but toward it. As well, excessive DoF has created a very distracting background, and that one branch, middle right, looks like it's poking her in the head, and causing her to lean away.

3. Quite nice, but I'm not fond of the "mugshot" profile. I'd recommend a more 3/4 aspect. I like the clover. Skin in this one seems very cold.

4. Not bad, but the chair appears to be leaning to image right.

5. Sorry, don't get this one at all.

6. Nice catchlights in the eyes, but the overall exposure is harsh and the subject is too far to the right and looking away (per #2). I'd recommend a diffuser on your right/center light, and a reflector image left to even up the exposure.