Photos Not Good Enough Quality to Print From Canon 40D

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Kirsty_koch, Feb 27, 2009.

  1. Kirsty_koch

    Kirsty_koch TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi Guys,

    When taking the pics off my Canon 40D they come off at 72dpi and then I usually batch them in Photoshop to 300dpi. (If anyone can tell me how to get jpgs off my Canon at higher res that would be great).

    When I took them to get printed today they (the photo machine) says they are not good enough quality to print and they look terrible on the screen. However, I have checked them again and they are definitely 300dpi. What is going wrong?
     
  2. Ptyler22

    Ptyler22 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I am not sure what's going wrong, but I have printed them at that resolution, at 16'X 24' and the prints were flawless quality, so I wouldn't worry about the quality of them.
     
  3. Chris of Arabia

    Chris of Arabia Herding cats since 1988... Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,825
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    The Magic Kingdom
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    What is the overall image size in pixels that you are trying to get printed?
     
  4. chrisburke

    chrisburke TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Madoc, Ontario Canada
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    sounds like your shooting at a lower resolution...

    also, i'm no photoshop genius, but i'm pretty sure if you have an image that is originally 72dpi, and then you up it to 300, your going to ruin it...its going to get very pixly..
     
  5. Katier

    Katier TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    0
    Depends how it's done.

    With PS you can either.

    Just change the dpi, this doesn't do anything to the image size but is very handy where software uses the dpi. An example is quark xpress, I often have to fiddle the dpi to get images to import properly. The physical image size is the same, just the dpi changes.

    i.e. a 2000x2000 image @ 100 dpi would be 20x20 but just changing it to 200dpi makes it a 10x10.

    Obviously however if you have it so the dpi scales the image ( i.e. the 200dpi image becomes 4000x4000) you will get a loss in quality.
     
  6. Tighearnach

    Tighearnach TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit

    72dpi is the default setting on my 400D too. When i first got a photo blown up they said 72dpi was no good but when i went to another printer they blew it up to A3 size and the quality was good.

    As far as i know the dpi setting on the jpg is not the deciding factor. The actual size of the image is. I.e you can select different levels of quality of jpg to shoot in with 2592x3888 being the highest quality my 400d can shoot (and your 40d too i think)

    If you have it set to 72dpi but also 2592x3888 then printing should be of very high quality.

    The problem is either your conversion to 300dpi in photoshop or else the guy in printing shop doesnt know what hes on about (as was the case with the 1st guy i went to)
     
  7. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,817
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    This has been covered many times, the following is from a thread just yesterday.

    If you shoot in RAW, you will be able to set the PPI in the RAW conversion software.
     
  8. swatspyder

    swatspyder TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    University Place, Washington
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I was about to post this... Shoot RAW and learn how to work the image in post processing. You will see a huge benefit and enjoy learning how to make alterations and slight adjustments.
     
  9. jeljohns

    jeljohns TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    This post made me curious too, because when I download my pictures off my camera and open them in Photoshop they say 72DPI, this is without doing anything to them and my camera is set at a high resolution (highest before RAW). So...should I be manually changing the DPI to 300 every time I open a picture? I remember back in college my graphics professor said when you do that the computer invents pixels and the image quality goes to crap.
     
  10. mrodgers

    mrodgers No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    7
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Jeljohns, the key is in BigMike's quoted post above....

    Without resampling, the image size stays the same thus the quality stays the same. If you were to resample, it would change the overall image size and the quality would suffer.
     
  11. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,817
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    The PPI is just a number to tell the computer how big to display the image on the screen.

    For example, if I have an image in Photoshop; the size is 3504 x 2336...and it's set to 72 PPI (which gives it a size of 48.667" x 32.444". I have it zoomed to fit all of it on my screen and the zoom level is 33%. This is just the size on the screen.

    Now, if I open the Image Size control and uncheck the 'resample' box...I can change the PPI to anything I want. The image will still be 3504 x 2336 and the image quality in not changed or affected in any way.

    Of course, if you leave the resample box checked...it will change the image by adding or removing pixels...which does change the quality.

    For printing, the standard is 300 PPI (but it doesn't have to be exactly that number). So if you are going to print the image, you may want to change the PPI to 300 (without resampling) to see what the document size will be.
    For my example image, it becomes 11.687" x 7.79"...so that's the size of high quality print I could make with 3504 x 2336 pixels.

    Further to that, you can add pixels to get enough resolution for large prints. For example, if I wanted to make a print 16" wide...I would leave the resample box checked, make sure that the PPI was 300 and change the width to 16". The height becomes 10.665" and the size of the image is changed to 4800 x 3200 pixels.
    Now, because I'm adding pixels, the image quality will go down...but you also need to consider that a 16" wide print isn't meant to be viewed close up. Hanging on a wall from 6 feet away, the print would probably look just fine. I could even change the PPI to something like 240, so that I don't have to add as many pixels.

    To sum up...the important thing to be aware of is the actual size of the image...in pixels.
     
  12. Kirsty_koch

    Kirsty_koch TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Thanks for all your help so far, am still a little confused though. So the picture straight off my camera is this 3888px wide and 2592px high. It is 72dpi. What I did was (in PS) untick resample image and typed 300dpi into the resolution and tick resample image again. The pixels remain the same. Is this unnecessary? Do I just leave it at 72dpi?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
canon 40d
,
canon 40d dpi setting
,
changing resolution on canon 40d
,
eos 40d change 72 to 300 dpi
,
highest resolution canon 40d
,
how good is the photo quality on the canon 40d
,
how to change dpi on canon 40d
,
how to print with canon 40d
,

is 300 dpi good enough

,
what is the highest resolution setting canon 40d