Photoshoot in full sunlight - advice please

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by CrazyEye, May 30, 2009.

1. CrazyEye

CrazyEye TPF Noob!

A couple has asked if I could take some portraits of their 1-year-old - they've tried going to a professional studio but their daughter has never cooperated. Apparently there is a small window during the day when she's in a good mood, and their appointment wasn't during one of those times. They say that her happy time is around 11am. They insist that we meet tomorrow for outdoor photos at 11am. The forecast for tomorrow is clear.

This is my first planned photoshoot and I'm really worried about the lighting. I've done some playing around with warm late afternoon side light with great results, but have never had anything turn out interesting in full sun. Does anyone have any tips? Thanks.

2. manaheim

manaheim Jedi Bunnywabbit Staff Member Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'm not a pro at these, but these are some general tips. I figured I'd toss 'em out in case you're pressed for time... better my half-useful info than none. :)

- bring a circular polarizer if you can, cuts down harsh light
    - try to wait for a cloud to pass over the subject before taking the shot if you can- makes a big difference in the lighting
    - try to go under cover of trees or something and use a reflector to bring the light to your subject (if you don't have one, those stupid silver "protect your dashboard from cooking" things work pretty good
    - watch out for her looking directly into the sun because she'll get squinty and you want to see her eyes, but conversely...
    - watch out for her back to the sun as it will wind up overexposing the background, which can look pretty crappy
    - bring a flash and use it as fill (preferably diffused and turned down) to help deal with the 2nd situation above

3. farmerj

farmerj TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit