Photoshoot Pricing?

madisonofriel

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello, I'm very new to the photo forum so sorry if this is in the wrong place... lol
I have started photography about 2 years ago, and lately i've been asked to take senior photos for people. I usually don't charge for my friends, but I eventually want to do this for a living and I don't want to have that reputation. At the same time though, I am not sure what an appropriate charge would be. The last shoot I did took me about two days (12 hrs) and about a week to go through/process/edit the 800 photos. I only charged $100 for the shoot and about $50 for prints/materials/props... Obviously I am an amateur but what would you suggest I charge in the future as I progress? Thanks in advance for your feedback.

Ps: I use a Nikon D3000 and lightroom 5

Here are some from my previous shoots.View attachment 76646 $DSC_0456.jpg$DSC_0772.jpg$DSC_0621.jpg$DSC_0727.jpg$DSC_0714.jpg$DSC_1357-3.jpg$DSC_0689.jpg$DSC_1539.jpg$DSC_1400.jpg$DSC_1147.jpg

Well for the future, I would suggest not taking 800 pictures hahaha.

I would say charge $250. Just for your time and cd, and if you want to give them a free 8x10 or something go ahead. And then charge per print.

Haha i don't know exactly how many but I was exaggerating. I took about 4 or 5 at a time.

I always take more than one photo for a 'pose', just in case I get a blink or whatever.

Amateurs don't charge anything.

If you charge you are no longer an amateur. Charge what the traffic will bear, but raising prices later involves several very difficult and expensive to over come marketing problems if you have hope of expanding your business.
Photography Business Secrets: The Savvy Photographer's Guide to Sales, Marketing, and More

The state of Georgia expects you to register with them and to collect and forward to them any sales taxes they are due. https://etax.dor.ga.gov/salestax/st3forms/st3_indx.aspx