Photoshop CS2 Vs. Photoshop Lightroom

charlie88

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Okay so not only am I a newbie in DSLR but also in programs like Photoshop CS2 &. Photoshop Lightroom. I recently download both of the free trials, but what would be your experience with either of these product? If you can compare and contrast. There Pros and Cons. Please, Thank you.

They are not two competing programs. They are designed to work together as a complete digital photography workflow. Lightroom is only in a beta stage right now, so it's not even worth mentioning. It has a long way to go before final production.

Photoshop can do minor editing and finishing, or it can completely transform an image. It's a very powerful professional program, and is the industry standard image editor.

What is your experience in photography? What types of things do you photograph, and what is your intended output?

I have very little experience in photography. Mostly I photograph Landscapes & portraits. I hope to one to get the hang of photography as a hobby.

Hey, you're in LA. Luck is on your side. The town is FULL of great courses on how to use Photoshop (and SLRs, too, btw.)

Check out UCLA Extension for good classes, as well as Julia Dean. both have their new schedules up, and many of the best classes are weeknights. (EDIT - Julia Dean doesn't have the new schedule up, but it will be posted in the next few days.)

Do you know the basics of photography, but are new to digital? Then you MUST take a really killer class at UCLA by Craig Mohr called Intermediate Digital Photography. Run a search for Course No. S5041U - best money ever spent. There's also one or two days of Photoshop, but there are other more intensive classes at UCLA covering that. Run a search on the words photography on their site, or photoshop.

Julia Dean has a ton of great classes, check out all the Photoshop ones, and they have a full computer lab (with pen-tablets!) at their locations.