Photoshop CS5

Discussion in 'Photographic Discussions' started by Ray1955, Dec 10, 2011.

  1. Ray1955
    Offline

    Ray1955 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sanford North Carolina
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Before I begin to master this software LOL really......I am trying to build a frame or border and signature to place on all my photos does someone know how to do this? I would apprectiate it.
  2. gkinney
    Offline

    gkinney New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Carrollton, Tx
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    I use 2 ACTION scripts to do it. One for the stroke and one to put a graphic over the image. You can Google this and find plenty of tutorials.
  3. bazooka
    Offline

    bazooka New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,288
    Likes Received:
    294
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +294 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    There are probably many ways, but here's how I would do it....

    Image > Canvas Size

    "Check" the relative box.

    If you want a specific sized border (2 inches for example), change the drop-down menu to "inches" and multiply your desired width by 2 (so 4 inches is what you would want) and enter that number in the horizontal and vertical boxes. If you want a percentage, just change the drop-down to percentage and enter it. Just remember, whatever you put there will be split between both sides, which is why you multiply by two.

    Make sure the anchor is set for the middle tile.

    Select what you want as the background on the bottom drop-down.

    Click OK.
  4. Ray1955
    Offline

    Ray1955 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sanford North Carolina
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    boy I must be stupid, didnt understand either of these so if I didnt understand the first one I couldnt google cause I wouldnt know what to google.
    Action scripts graphic over the image? what does that really mean?.......you have a link maybe ?
  5. Buckster
    Offline

    Buckster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5,425
    Likes Received:
    1,949
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Way up North in Michigan
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,958 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    • Like Like x 1
  6. bazooka
    Offline

    bazooka New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,288
    Likes Received:
    294
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +294 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    I'm not sure how my walkthrough was confusing.... go to Image.... then Canvas size.... etc... I can't break it down anymore than that without going into the functions of a mouse. :)
  7. Ray1955
    Offline

    Ray1955 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sanford North Carolina
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Buckster, here is the thing, I created the borders in photoshop CS5 and it worked both ways.......now I can't create a signature in CS5 as your link shows as it is a link for ELEMENTS.....so how do I get my brush to CS5?
  8. Buckster
    Offline

    Buckster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5,425
    Likes Received:
    1,949
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Way up North in Michigan
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,958 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Maybe this can help:

    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 11, 2014
  9. Ray1955
    Offline

    Ray1955 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sanford North Carolina
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    ooohhh your bad.....LOL.....thats ok I got the border .......now for the signature......
  10. Ray1955
    Offline

    Ray1955 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sanford North Carolina
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Buckster, I was unable to send you what I have so far.....having trouble to get the signature shrunk ......supposed to be able to transform and free transform to reduce but the option is not available or visible.
  11. KmH
    Offline

    KmH Helping photographers learn to fish

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,493
    Likes Received:
    4,213
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +4,308 / 8
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2011
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Ray1955
    Offline

    Ray1955 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sanford North Carolina
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    KMH, well that was good however it was not the signature I took with my camera etc......but yes it is alot of what I see folks doing with their pictures.
    Not sure how to get the C for copy right ......he says alt 0169 but I dont get the letter c with that.
  13. Buckster
    Offline

    Buckster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5,425
    Likes Received:
    1,949
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Way up North in Michigan
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,958 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Keep holding alt key down while pressing 0169, then let it up: ©
  14. KmH
    Offline

    KmH Helping photographers learn to fish

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,493
    Likes Received:
    4,213
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +4,308 / 8
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    And you have to use the number keypad to type Alt 0169, not the numbers across the top of the keyboard.

    I sign a piece of typing paper using a black Sharpie, and scan it into CS5. Then I can manipulate the signature in any number of ways.
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2011
  15. Ray1955
    Offline

    Ray1955 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sanford North Carolina
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am using a laptop they dont have key pads with numbers keys just what is across the top.

Share This Page