Photoshop lesson. Fixing flat images and Colorcasts.

Taylor510ce

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I think that this is a very useful lesson to add to your photoshop workflows so I figured I would share. You can do much of this by "eyeballin" it, but as a beginner I found this to be a more systematic approach. It is two part but you have to read the first part to understand the second part. Try it out and post a before and after shot if you like. Part 1: How To: Fixing Low-Contrast Photos | Photography - PopPhoto.com Offers Camera Reviews and Exclusive Photo Tips Part 2: How To: Remove Color Cast With Photoshop | Photography - PopPhoto.com Offers Camera Reviews and Exclusive Photo Tips

Even better, is to learn how to make it happen in the camera, so you don't have to 'fix it' in post processing.

I agree wholeheartedly with the article's premise. In fact, the very FIRST thing I do to an image is to open the levels command, and manually adjust the black point in the red,green,and blue channels. Adjusting the image's black point has long been the first step that Nikon suggests when handling digital images in Nikon Capture. For those who are preparing images for printing, either on inkjet, or for newspaper or magazine submission, setting the black point is a very important step. Even when an image has been properly exposed in the camera, manually setting the black point in the three color channels can help at all the additional,subsequent steps of the editing process.

You need to establish how black the black point really is, so that the rest of the tones can be mapped against a known, defined,proper black point.

I have to admit: I didn't even look at the article, let alone read it. :blushing:

Edit....Ok I've read the "Fixing Low Contrast Photo's" article, and I do that with pretty much every image of mine I edit.

I noticed this line on the last page of the tut' "If you can find a neutral gray in your image.....".