Picture Quality Question

Scarlett

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
So, I am rather new to photography. I shoot with a Nikon D50 and I'm really forward to having more time these next few months to shoot a lot. This is probably a very basic question, but I'm not sure what the cause is. How do I improve the image quality of my photos? I don't mean through editing (or maybe I do?), but it just seems like my photos turn out very dull. I come look around here and there is a certain smoothness and brilliance about a lot of the images. How do I get that?!

I will show some examples...I did no editing to these besides for cropping them:

re.jpg

There are great colors and textures that I could have used but I just found it difficult to get the whole foreground there in focus. There is no sharpness in the image. I guess I'm wondering if there is a way to make the image "pop" without Photoshop or PSP.

ra.jpg

Same situation here.

rt.jpg

I really wanted to like this picture but it's just very dull. It's missing something.

wild2.jpg

With these last two...I have tried saturating them before but the result is not very appealing...it looks very...unrealistic.

Basically I'm just looking for tips on picture quality. I want that smoothness and brilliance but I'm not sure how it's done!! Any suggestions would be more than appreciated. Thank you.

The problem from my perspective is that the images aren't sharp. I suspect you might be using a long lens and getting some camera shake. Generally we want to choose a shutter speed that is faster than 1/lens focal length when hand holding. With a tripod, of course, you can use any shutter speed for stationary subjects.