PictureProject (nikon)

Joel

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.sydpk.com
1st can i express how annoying i think this program is! but i have a few questions

i find the importing is ok, its pretty easy with only a few clicks. especially if u set up folders how u like them etc... but the actually pictureproject program is so crap i think. the most annoying thing is that it automatically saves over a file if you edit one (i learnt this the hard way). so heres my questions

1- does it have any real use (assuming i have PS also)?

2- with regards to importing raw files, does anyone use the "embed preview" option, and is this dangerous? im scared of ruining my originals.

3- is there anyway to get rid of the main program and just keep the importer. or am i best off to get rid of it all together and manually import my pics?

Thanks for you help in advance

(ps i only got my camera, a D50, a few weeks ago and im only new to the digital world, so be nice)

I don't use a Nikon camera, nor picture project, so I can't truly share in your frustration, but let me just say that most software that comes with the camera is sub par. Nikon spends it money and research on making a better camera, not software.

There are lots of great raw programs out there. A great free one is raw shooter essentials. Google it. If you have photoshop CS or CS2 you can use it to edit your raw photos. I personally use C1 LE, which is not free, ($99) but is excellent.

hey, i have PS7, is this ok to edit my RAW files in... it seems to open them fine and all the functions work. although i havent tried saving on yet (ill do that now).

also, i cannot notice any difference between using the "embed preview" option and not using it. does anyone know what this even does?

edit-
ok, im having trouble saving and re-opening. and im not really sure whats going on. ill have to do some reading so i can understand file types better. does anyone know of anything i should read in particular?