Pictures in the hospital

Jenn30

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a question. I'm talking pictures in the hospital of a my friends baby. When I turn the flash off it usually blurry and when the flash is on it just seems to bright. Can anyone tell me what to do, so I can get some great memories for my friend

:)

leave the flash on but put your hand over it :D

thats what i do :)

what setting do you use with your camera? that might help with people's answers.

i'm going out on a limb (as i'm a noob) and saying that your shutter speed may be too low. also, when i'm shooting with no flash, i tend to turn up the ISO... but that makes my pics all grainy

If you have the right equipment, such as a DSLR/SLR camera with a fast lens, such as 50mm f/1.8 or better, you can take photos without flash. And sometimes, you may need to go with higher ISO.

What camera are you using first? If it is a P&S then shoot in Aperture Mode and, adjust it till you get the right exposure. I wouldnt use Auto it will always over expose.

In one of your menus, you can underexpose the flash. Do so, to get a more natural light.

skieur

put hand over flash maybe resulting a reddish colour? try to put on a DIY diffuser, say half cut used white plastic bottle (cough syrup)? that may soften your subject.. blurry pics caused by movement - and camera's long exposure (to get in more light).. flash will provide the light - so that short exposure is being used, but too much light will overexpose the subject (harsh flash - too bright).. so, a diffuser would be great - soften the light source (flash) without sacrificing the exposure..

I would increase the ISO and try that way see what you get. Also, shoot on aperture mode. (I would try a f# between 5.6 to 8)
Good Luck!!