Pictures of Orchestra

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by Sabiesh, Jan 26, 2006.

1. Sabiesh

Sabiesh TPF Noob!

I've been asked to take pictures of my orchestra in rehearsal and in concert. I'll be doing the rehearsals first, and they take place in a large room with bright fluorescent light overhead. It seems like that kind of lighting will cast shadows under people's eyes. Does anyone have any ideas about what to do about that? Also, any ideas about f-stops and shutter speeds, ISO?

I should add that I am very new to digital photography--I just bought a Canon SLR Digital Rebel, and am taking a beginning photography class at NESOP.
    Heather

2. Sabiesh

Sabiesh TPF Noob!

Well, I think I can answer my own question a little now: I've just studied several websites, and noticed that pictures of individual orchestra members playing are often taken from the side, which doesn't really focus on the face front on, so the eyes aren't too dark. Also, there are a lot of pictures that focus on the instruments rather than faces, so once again the lighting doesn't matter as much. Then there are other pictures that take a row of a single instrument, such as violins, so again the focus is not on the face. So I think it's a matter of what to focus on, and I won't worry about the lighting.

3. PachelbelsCanon350D

PachelbelsCanon350D TPF Noob!

I think that's a good start, but I would worry about lighting just a little. ;) Set your white balance so that the fluorescent lights do not photograph as a sickening color, as they have the tendency to do. You get home and your photos look sick green or yellow or whatever kind of light they put out.
    But you neutralize that by setting a custom white balance (it's easy to do, and it's in the manual that comes with the camera I believe) and you'll have much less computer work to do when you're finished shooting.