Playing w/lighting...portrait of daughter

blutiful

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Please let me know what you think of this portrait. I have been trying to learn how to get the lighting right for portraits and then I play w/the backgrounds too much and by the time I'm done, i've been staring at it for hours and all I see are the flaws... What do you think?
katyoct2004.jpg

i love the look on her face but here are some thoughts...

she looks "cut out" and the background is obviously photoshopped. it doesnt look natural due to the dreaded PS halo around her. i would try using muslin cloths or other backdrops to create the effect you are going for.

md

Thanks and yes, I agree about the looking cut out. Since I am just beginning and have dropped a pretty penny on my camera, I feel bad hitting my husband up for backdrops. I've been using sheets *cringes in embarrasment* and then trying to create a backdrop in PS.

I appreciate your insight. Other than the halo? What are your thoughts on lighting of her face?

blutiful said:
Thanks and yes, I agree about the looking cut out. Since I am just beginning and have dropped a pretty penny on my camera, I feel bad hitting my husband up for backdrops. I've been using sheets *cringes in embarrasment* and then trying to create a backdrop in PS.

I appreciate your insight. Other than the halo? What are your thoughts on lighting of her face?

still doing good work though!!! dont count yourself out!

heres what i would do.

1) set up lights to the left and right of her so it wont be shining directly into her face.
2) it looks like there is a little bit of red eye in her eyes...are you using the on camera flash of the 828? if so, dont. red eye everytime. invest in an off camera flash for portrature.

thats about all i would change!

md

darn it - forgot to remove the red-eye in PS. Thats what you get for fiddling on the computer when it's way past your bedtime.