Please Critique my photos!!

PJCurry

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am a beginner, been shooting seriously for about a year and have had no professional training or classes. I use a Rebel XTI with a nifty fifty (50mm 1.8) I understand a lot about the camera and how to use it, I just wanted to solicit your opinion on my work. Any Tips? Thanks in advance!

Paul
CarsonandSydnicopy.jpg

BobandVicki.jpg

Handsandfingerscopy.jpg

Hands.jpg

Sydnisleeping.jpg

SydnitArm.jpg

Thanks again for taking the time to grade!

Cute baby, my son is the whole reason I finally bought a DSLR. :)

1) Good concept, but nothing in the image is in focus. Given the angle and the aperture setting, even if the eye closest to the camera were in focus the opposite eye wouldn't be in focus. I would reduce the aperture setting on the 50mm.

2) Again, too wide of an aperture. Nothing really appears to be in focus, expect maybe the babies head. Given what you were shooting, the woman holding the child should have been in focus.

3) Cute shoot, but again, I think the DoF is too shallow and the one finger that's almost in focus really isn't.

4) Too shallow of DoF again, and the hand isn't in clear focus.

5) Again, I believe the DoF is too shallow and the focus is missed here too. The hand is partially obscuring the face. I would have moved to get a clear shot of the face or moved the baby's hand to get a clear shot, with the focus on the eyes and I would have used an aperture setting that left the entire face in focus.

6) Just an under exposed shot of a baby's hairy arm. I'm not sure what you were trying to capture here.

Four and five are my favorites. They have the subject facing the camera, are well light, have very non-distracting backgrounds, and really capture the softness and frailty of the little one.