Please help me choose my first DSLR

AKR

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, I've been an amateur photographer for about 12 years. I've basically stopped using physical-film cameras and have been using my girlfriend's point-n-shoot digital for a few years, which takes surprisingly good shots. However, it's still a point-n-shoot and I finally have some money to spend on a decent digital. I'm looking to spend up to around $700-800 for a body + something like a 200mm zoom lens, and I'm willing to buy a used camera from somewhere like Adorama.

I shoot a lot of nature shots, focusing on macro-photography, but I'm planning on shoot quite a few portrait shots as well. Those will be my two main purposes for this camera, but I also shoot some scenery and action shots as well. I've been looking at something like the Pentax K2000 or the K200D. I already have a 35mm and a medium format camera from Pentax, but I don't know how great their DSLR's compare to others. I was also looking at the Nikon D60. There are others in the same price range, but I don't see any others with some sort of image stabilization ability.

Anyways, thanks for reading.

Reuben

P.S. My gf is also looking at the Sony Alpha A200 for most macro/portraits as well, if it's a good camera for these needs. She already has some old Minolta lenses that will work with this body.

Last edited: