Please help me First DSLR ordering online

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by texas_renegade, Jun 19, 2008.

1. texas_renegade

texas_renegade TPF Noob!

Hello,
    This is my first time buying a DSLR camera and i am going to order it online. I am going to get a Canon Rebel XT Body Only. I am going to order it from www.Adorama.com. I have a couple questions...

1. Is Adorama a good place to buy online, is it a scam or is it actually a legit online seller?

2. I only want the camera body does this seem like a good price and the right description for the Canon Rebel XT Body Only...keep in mind i want it new not used
    http://www.adorama.com/ICADRXTB.html

3. I am also going to need a lens so I was considering a nifty fifty lens (50mm 1.8)...or would i be better off going with that or the kit lens (EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6)?

Thank you so much for you help...i really appreciate it.

2. Josh66

Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    1 - Yes, Adorama is reputable store. I personally get most of my stuff from B&H though (no reason really, just "discovered" them first).

2 - Yes, the price looks right. I thought I saw it for $350 a week or two ago, but maybe I was mistaken (or maybe there was a rebate going on). It's $410 at B&H right now.

3 - Either would be a good pick I guess. More of a personal preference thing I think. Me - I use my 50 (1.4) all the time (all the time as in "a lot", not as in "the only one I use"), I don't even keep the kit lens in my bag anymore.

3. texas_renegade

texas_renegade TPF Noob!

Does this look like the 50mm 1.4 for a DSLR, sorry I am really new at this...and also can you change the aperature to a higher fstop then 1.4 meaning like f1.8 f2.0..sorry for the stupid questions.
    http://www.adorama.com/CA5018AFU.html?searchinfo=canon 50mm&item_no=2

4. Josh66

Photos NOT OK to edit
    This is the lens I'm talking about: