Please help me - I need advice on picking a camera

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by gvictor87, Dec 2, 2009.

1. gvictor87

gvictor87 TPF Noob!

Hello forum,

Can anyone help me out? I am a newbie looking for a handheld digital camera with the following specs:

+Under $400
    +720/30fps video recording
    +10MP+ for digital photos
    +Microphone input for adding an external mic

Would be nice...
    +Fold out LCD Screen

Basically this camera -- but with an input for adding an external mic! Help please:
    Amazon.com: Sanyo VPC-CG10 HD Flash Memory Camcorder w/5x Optical Zoom (Black): Electronics

(As a second option something like this --but with an external mic input -- would do)
    Amazon.com: Samsung SL820 12MP Digital Camera with 5x Wide Angle Dual Image Stabilized Zoom and 3.0 inch LCD (Black): Electronics

Last edited: Dec 2, 2009
  2. KmH

KmH Helping photographers learn to fish Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Under $200? Sorry, not gonna happen.

3. gvictor87

gvictor87 TPF Noob!

Ok Under $400.. but don't let that stop you from naming a suitable cam (but I can't afford over that)

Do you have any thoughts on Sanyo? Other brands you prefer?

4. Atlas77

Atlas77 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Lets be honest here, those cameras are crap. For 400$ get a Nikon D40 w/ a Nikon 18-55 kit lens. Your going to need a DSLR if you want to get serious. The point and shoots wont cut it, your going to blow 400 bucks on a P&S and realize you need a DSLR.

Do you want to get into photography?

5. PatrickHMS

PatrickHMS TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    ^^^ What he says ^^^

6. Markw

Markw No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Agreed.

Mark

7. CWN

CWN TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Edit - see below :lol:

Last edited: Dec 2, 2009
  8. gvictor87

gvictor87 TPF Noob!