Please help me - I need advice on picking a camera

gvictor87

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello forum,

Can anyone help me out? I am a newbie looking for a handheld digital camera with the following specs:

+Under $400
+720/30fps video recording
+10MP+ for digital photos
+Microphone input for adding an external mic

Would be nice...
+Fold out LCD Screen

Basically this camera -- but with an input for adding an external mic! Help please:
Amazon.com: Sanyo VPC-CG10 HD Flash Memory Camcorder w/5x Optical Zoom (Black): Electronics

(As a second option something like this --but with an external mic input -- would do)
Amazon.com: Samsung SL820 12MP Digital Camera with 5x Wide Angle Dual Image Stabilized Zoom and 3.0 inch LCD (Black): Electronics

Last edited:
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Under $200? Sorry, not gonna happen.

Ok Under $400.. but don't let that stop you from naming a suitable cam (but I can't afford over that)

Do you have any thoughts on Sanyo? Other brands you prefer?

Under $200? Sorry, not gonna happen.

Ok Under $400.. but don't let that stop you from naming a suitable cam (but I can't afford over that)

Do you have any thoughts on Sanyo? Other brands you prefer?

Lets be honest here, those cameras are crap. For 400$ get a Nikon D40 w/ a Nikon 18-55 kit lens. Your going to need a DSLR if you want to get serious. The point and shoots wont cut it, your going to blow 400 bucks on a P&S and realize you need a DSLR.

Do you want to get into photography?

Edit - see below :lol:

Last edited:
Lets be honest here, those cameras are crap. For 400$ get a Nikon D40 w/ a Nikon 18-55 kit lens. Your going to need a DSLR if you want to get serious. The point and shoots wont cut it, your going to blow 400 bucks on a P&S and realize you need a DSLR.

Thanks for the advice, that is a better brand, but I don't get it the camera you recommended has only 6 MP, how is that better? Also, no video on this camera, right?