Please Help! Picking a Canon DSLR...

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Flur, Sep 22, 2008.

1. Flur

Flur TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I've decided to get a new camera and am looking for a Canon. I want to get the best camera in my price range. As I'm a hobby photographer I shoot all different kinds of things in different environments, different lighting, etc., and this will be my primary camera. I do have professional aspirations, but I'm still learning the craft. I currently have a Rebel 2000 35mm camera that I love, but it's film and I prefer digital, and I have an SD1000 Elph that I take everywhere.

I'm looking at the new 50D and the current 5D, which I've found online at a huge discount (probably b/c the new 5D MkII is coming out soon). The 5D has a full frame sensor but the technology is 3 years old and I know Canon has made a lot of improvements (better at higher ISO, self-cleaning sensor, better chip, etc.). I was leaning towards the 50D to get the current technology, but then I learned a little more about the lenses and that lenses will seem different on the smaller sensor than what I'm used to with the 35mm. I don't have a big lens collection to transfer over, but either way I go I'd want to eventually upgrade later, and that camera will almost definitely have a full frame sensor. I'd hate to have to buy all new lenses later on.

So now I'm at a loss. Do I go for the full frame sensor, or the new technology? Ultimately I just want great pictures and to have fun taking them.

Thanks in advance for all your help.

2. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Welcome to the forum.

A lot of people have faced the same decision.

There is nothing wrong with the 5D, it's a great camera but it does sometimes suck to buy older technology when newer stuff is already available.